A Visit to Chestnut Street

My first Maeve Binchy read and oh what a treasure. I actually listened to this book thanks to Random House Audio and I could not have asked for better company on the ride to and from work.  Sile Bermingham was the perfect narrator to transport me to Ireland.

Chestnut Street

This collection of short stories written by Binchy on a fictional street that she was saving for later have now come to life in this book.  Each story stands on its own and allows for easy listening if you are not sure about making a commitment to the audiobook world or only have short interludes for listening in. Bermingham is really to be applauded as this collection has so many characters that she has to bring to life in the audiobook.

When I finished a disc I would often find myself going back to listen to one of the stories  again.  This is the kind of listen/read to visit again and again.

These stories were both touching and humorous and there was something special in each one. Ms. Binchy I tip my hat to you posthumously and thank you for CHESTNUT STREET and the body of work you left for myself and others to read now and for years to come.

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Audiobook, Fiction Light, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment