A New Poirot Mystery

The Monogram Murders: The New Hercule Poirot Mystery” by SOPHIE HANNAH from WilliamMorrow was long-awaited at our house.  It is a rare book that my other half and I fight over but he stole this one, hid it and now these are his thoughts…

Monogram

I was very interested in reading this book as soon as I heard about it. The editorial reviews were very positive….so I put another book aside, and I dived in! After reading this book, I have a better appreciation of just how hard it must be to write a convincing pastiche. Many Sherlock Holmes pastiches, although pretty good stories, seem to miss the mark a bit. I feel the same about Sophie Hannah’s first effort at Poirot; pretty good book but not quite Agatha Christie’s Poirot. Sophie Hannah’s Poirot is not as charming as one is used to and comes across a little boring. In addition, the story itself seems at times to be overly complicated.

I may be overly critical here, but remember – we are comparing Ms. Hannah to Ms. Christie. The Poirot novels I have always enjoyed the most are those which include Captain Hastings. Hastings is missing in this novel, but the author does do a good job of utilizing Scotland Yard policeman Edward Catchpool for much of the narration. The portions of the book I enjoyed the most are those that highlighted Catchpool’s investigation (and did not include Poirot)!

Bottom line – I was interested enough in the book that I quickly read it to the end. Although not as satisfying as a Christie novel, it was good enough that I will be reading Sophie Hannah’s next Poirot novel when she makes her second effort. Hopefully, the Poirot we have enjoyed all of our lives will emerge in book #2.

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Books, Mystery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

