THE OTHER TYPIST IS FULL OF TWISTS AND TURNS

I am a cover art person and often choose my books this way, or certainly will be unable to resist picking up one based on this.  While I can honestly say this cover did not appeal to me, I think I might have missed it under normal circumstances.

As I try never to read the advance press, back cover or blurbs I went into this one completely blind because of a new addition to my book life, the Hash Tag Book Club.  I will confess I was surprised by how much the THE OTHER TYPIST pulled me in with its rich characters and background.

The Other TypistTHE OTHER TYPIST by Suzanne Rindell is an excellent summer thriller and yet light by thriller standards.  It is mischievous and devious and you never know if you have it right.  Rindell does an excellent job developing the characters within both main and supporting.  Although, she is not afraid to make them less than likeable and there is no clean bow tie ending either which I tend to like. And yet I still have so many questions running through my mind about it.

If you are looking for something to keep you riveted till the end this is the one for you.  But a word of warning pick up one for a friend or select it for the book club so you have someone to chat about it with.  Thanks to the Hash Tags for making this an even better read with our Hash Tag Chats on Twitter.

THE OTHER TYPIST represented a first for me, I was lucky enough to have a copy of the physical book and the audiobook and I did a little double dipping.  It allowed be to stay on schedule with the Hash Tag schedule as well as compare the two.  I have to say I would have enjoyed it either by reading or listening to it.

Gretchen Mol was the narrator of this Penguin Audio edition and I just loved what she did with it.  I thought her narration was just brilliant and really transported me to the 20s.  Her poise, modulation and tone felt as if she was made for this book.  If you are not familiar with Mol you should be sure to listen to this audiobook and watch her in BOARDWALK EMPIRE.

And since reading THE OTHER TYPIST there is news, Keira Knightly is set to produce and star in THE OTHER TYPIST: http://www.hindustantimes.com/Entertainment/Hollywood/Keira-Knightley-to-star-in-The-Other-Typist/Article1-1085248.aspx. Ms. Knightly if you happen to see this post think about Mol for the role of Odalie I think she would be great, that is of course assuming you are going to play Rose.

Big congrats to SUZANNE RINDELL and  special thanks to Amy Einhorn Books/Putnam Books for the opportunity to read this novel. I look forward to Rindell’s next book as I am sure it in the works.

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Books, Fiction, Novel, Penguin Books, Reading, Thriller and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to THE OTHER TYPIST IS FULL OF TWISTS AND TURNS

  1. I also judge a book by its cover, maybe it’s not that bad when it is actually a book! I recently also fell in love with another book you featured, A Hundred Summers, lovely cover art!! I have considered audio books as an incentive to go out and walk in the mornings as exercise but I had always thought that the author did the reading of the book, of course now that you’ve cleared this up it sounds like quite a delight to listen to this audiobook…is the Hash Tag Book Club private? Thanks for another wonderful review, read you soon, Alexandra p.s. your reviews are making my reading list longer and longer 🙂 love it

    • poofbooks says:

      Good point about judge by covers and yes hopefully a pardon as it is books. Oh yes A HUNDRED SUMMERS was excellent these are different but both well done. The commonality it another time and definitely some dislikeable characters.

      Until recently I did not know authors read their audiobooks. This is usually the case with non-fiction and bios. Hit or miss to be sure but Valerie Harper was fabulous reading I RHODA.

      Hash Tags is not private. Just something that evolved out of SHE READS Book CLUB which is most definitely not private. Have you looked into that? Although that will make your TBR pile even bigger.

      Thank you for stopping by and for your thoughtful comments.

  2. I am a sucker for good cover art too. I have been hearing great things about this-will have to get it-thanks!

Leave a Reply

