Careful This Audiobook Might Runaway With Your Day

Last RunawayTHE LAST RUNAWAY
Written by: Tracy Chevalier
Published by: Dutton (a Penguin imprint)
Audiobook Produced by: Penguin Audio

I stand in appreciation of Tracy Chevalier’s talent and have read almost all of her books. However, this is the first time I have listened to one of Chevalier’s books. I was not sure if this was going to add to or detract from my fondness for Chevalier’s writing or my enjoyment. Glad to report that listening to the book was just as good as reading it. In fact the narration by Kate Reading brought an entirely new dimension to the experience. Reading’s narration, pace and accents brought more life to the book then I would bring to it on my own.

Chevalier covers a different snippet of history in each of her books. But it is the way that she does it which I find unique and wonderful. A few chapters in to her books I wonder how she pitches these books but then I am so thankful for the person on the other side of the pitch that recognizes its place.

Do not expect any shoot ‘em up big budget style action. These are just slices of life and the historical time serves as the backdrop. Chevalier develops her characters in order to highlight the historical topic of the book but the balance is genius. In this case it is the underground railway for black slaves with a peek into the lives of Quakers.

Honor Bright, a Quaker, tags along with her sister on the journey from England to Ohio in 1850. Her sister Grace is going to be wed and Honor is hoping for a change and some adventure. But she did not realize how different and alone she would be in America.

Honor is surprised by the prejudice that exists in this new country that felt unfair to her and her Quaker beliefs. Honor’s life takes a number of twists and turns as she struggles to find her footing but helping the slaves to gain their freedom joining the Underground Railroad is the one ideal that comes easiest to her.

Chevalier’s characters are front and center and I so appreciate her care developing them plus the historical backdrop which I so appreciate. When I finish her novels I feel as if I have made new friends and been educated about a time and place that I now have an appreciation for.

I strongly recommend picking up one of Chevalier’s books. If you are still on the fence why not try THE LAST RUNAWAY audiobook as the writing coupled with the narration of Kate Reading will transport you to another time and place in America. Incidentally this is Chevalier’s first foray into American history.

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Audiobook, Books, Fiction, Historical, Novel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Careful This Audiobook Might Runaway With Your Day

  1. melanie says:

    I just reviewed this audio, too – it’s just compelling, isn’t it? And I swear I’ll hear Reading as Donovan calling “Honor Bright” into the night for weeks.

    • poofbooks says:

      So glad you stopped by, I am headed over to see your thoughts on this listen. I so agree with you about the Donovan comment your recalling that has brought it back front of mind.

  2. Great review! I love historical fiction- have to put it on the list.

    • poofbooks says:

      Thanks for another visit. She is definitely a different kind of historical fiction writer but I find her just so interesting. It is not as if Chevalier tries to take on the entire historical perspective but instead creates a cast of characters to explore it. I know that wherever she probes next I will be there to read it.

Leave a Reply

