Tis the Week of Chanukah or Hanukkah or…

ChanukahHOW TO SPELL CHANUKAH…AND OTHER HOLIDAY DILEMMAS

Eighteen Writers Celebrate Eight Nights of Lights

Edited by: Emily Franklin

Published by: Algonquin Books

I don’t know that I have ever read a book about Chanukah, Hanukkah or…you get the idea. Whether Jewish or not there is something inside for everyone. Even this “Jewish Light” girl now realizes she is not alone with customs that were crafted inside of her family. Who knew?

These eighteen authors share funny, lovely and sometimes anguished essays about their Hanukkah observances. I started with the introduction by Emily Franklin which set the tone and then I sought out authors I was familiar with:  Jonathan Tropper contributed “Rock of Ages” and then “Oh, Lord. Oh Lourdes, Alors!” by Mameve Medwed.

As I just finished listening to Tropper’s “One Last Thing Before I Go” audiobook he was on my brain. And a number of years ago had read and loved Medwed’s “How Elizabeth Barrett Browning Saved My Life” so she was next. Then I settled in to read the other 16 essay by authors I was not familiar with. “The Dolls of The World” by Joanna Smith Rakoff touched my heart and my hands down favorite title had to be “The Light, The Sword, And the Nintendo DS” by Karen E. Bender and Robert Anthony Siegel.

Still plenty of time to pick this one up for one of the remaining nights of Hanukkah but I assure you it can be enjoyed all through this holiday season. Reflecting on your own holiday traditions with those brought to life by these authors will start many a conversations.

Thank you Algonquin Books for providing me with a copy of this book. Also, a heart felt thank you for the for the years of worry and no doubt guilt that have been saved knowing that my crazy family with its mish mash methods for celebration are not that weird.

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Books, Essays, Holiday, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

