A Provencal Mystery You Do Not Want to Miss

MURDER IN THE RUE DUMAS by M.L. Longworth is the second installment of A Verlaque & Bonnet Provencal Mystery series.  This time L’Universite d’Aix theology department politics supplies the backdrop for murder.  As Longworth is a resident of Aix-en-Province in the South of France and a University Professor, she wrote about what she knows well.  

The lead sleuths returning in this second mystery are: chief magistrate Antoine Verlaque, his on and off girlfriend Marine Bonnet law professor at the university and commissioner Bruno Paulik.  Longworth provides a cast of characters including both faculty and students and any one of them could have committed the crimes. 

Dr. George Mouette, the director of the theology department, said he was stepping down and naming his successor.  Additionally, it was time for his yearly announcement of a prestigious fellowship for a deserving graduate student.   So when Dr. Mouette decided not to step down and change the course of things there were any number of the faculty most angry with him.  But were any of them angry enough to hit him with a 700 year old relic or was it someone else? The more this murder is investigated the clearer it seems there is a cover up underway.

Longworth skillfully sets the stage to point to a character and each time I fell for it, just when I thought I might be zeroing in on the suspect a second murder occurs which throws me completely off.  I was not sure whodunit till the end. 

It is not all murder in MURDER IN THE RUE DUMAS, Longworth gives the lead characters lives outside of their detective work. Verlaque and Bonnet are dating and travel for work and pleasure. Verlaque and Paulik work the case together but there is always time for a coffee or a meal.  In the Verlaque & Bonnet Provencal mysteries Longworth provides plenty of time to take in the ambience, culture, food and drink.

I can see this series being around for many years to come. It is not hard imagining it being developed for the small screen in the tradition of Morse and Poirot.  Only Verlaque has his home base in Aix which makes my knees weak, thank you M.L. from the bottom of my heart. This mystery light and I anxiously await the return to Aix in the next release in the series. 

GIVEAWAY:  With special thanks to the folks at Viking an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) I have a copy to giveaway to one lucky person.  If you would like to be transported to Aix-en Provence and see if your sleuthing skills are better than mine please leave a comment and share a mystery or series you have read recently that you enjoyed.

NOTE: Winner will be chosen at random and this giveaway ends on Friday, October 26th at midnight.

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Giveaway, Mystery, Mystery, Reads and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Provencal Mystery You Do Not Want to Miss

  1. Pamella Leiter says:

    Having spent only a short time in Aix with my friend Mary, I would like to be transported back through a mystery series. I thought I would be very original by mentioning that one of my favorite mystery series is the Amelia Peabody series by Elizabeth Peters. Haven’t read any of the novels for several years but there was a time when I could not put them down and they couldn’t pubish them fast enough!

  2. heidenkind says:

    I just finished The Mysterious Affair at Styles and it was pretty good. I love Hercule Poirot!

  3. Mary Pat says:

    I enjoyed reading The Orchid House. Would welcome any suggestions as I am having a slow time mending from a broken foot! Loved to be included in the giveaway chance!

    Mary Pat

  4. Thanks for the giveaway, am really curious about this one. Just discovered recently the Mrs Pollifax series by Dorothy Gilman, and enjoying it thoroughly. Even the audios, all read by the same narrator, are awesome. Mrs Pollifax is a grand-mother who became detective to keep busy. Delightful character. Each book she’ s sent to a different country

    • poofbooks says:

      Oh I had read a number of those and enjoyed them. I think I have some more somewhere–must look.

      I think you would definitely find this serious enjoyable if you like the pace and style of Mrs. Polifax.

  5. I read Defending Jacob passed it t0 friends and family evoked a lot if discussion. Terrific Read!!

  6. heather webb says:

    I can’t wait to read this one, Falise. 🙂

    I’ve recently read a fabulous mystery novel that is going to be released next July– CLAWS OF THE CAT by Susan Spann. A ninja detective and a Portuguese priest solve murders in 16th century Japan. It’s fast-paced, the cultural tibits are fun, and there’s a dry humor throughout the novel.

  7. I loved the title of this post. I’m such a sucker for good mystery series. Lately, I’ve been stuck on the Amelia Peabody series by Elizabeth Peters. It’s such a fun series, and I love the characters.

    It’s always so nice to find one you can just sink into.

Leave a Reply

