The audiobook I loved from its cover to its last uttered word – THE HOUSE I LOVED

Both a love letter to a husband that passed away as well as to a house that was more than just a home.   Rose Bazelet is now alone in her house waiting for…that is not clear from the beginning.  These veils that are swept around the listener create a view of a life revealed through letters written by its mistress. 

At a time of change in Paris that resulted in the Paris so often regaled for its beautiful boulevards created by the visionary Baron Haussmann.  Parts of the city would be renovated but no one had any idea it would be on such a grand scale.  And Armand Bazelet believed his beloved home would be safe, he had assured Rose of this.

Rose had married Armand Bazelet oh so many years ago.  This house had been in his family for several generations.   Armand had passed away from a disease that took pieces of her precious husband from her even before his death.  She has already lost a son, Baptista and is estranged from her daughter. Now her beautiful street, rue Childebert, is deserted as everyone else left the prefecture with buyout in hand. 

The plan was for Rose to go live with Violette, her daughter, but this is not what she wants.   Feeling trapped, Rose cloistered herself in the basement avoiding the notice she had been sent to relocate. In THE HOUSE I LOVED Tatiana de Rosnay gave Rose the opportunity to say all she wanted to say about a life lived while she was waiting.  

A couple of comments: Special thanks to Macmillan Audio for providing me with a copy of THE HOUSE I LOVED.  Bravo for the person(s) behind the cover art, that shot grabs me every time.  I am partial to books that take place in France, cannot be helped. 

Some quotes that wrapped around my heart:

 “Houses are like people, have a soul, a heart, they live and breathe, they remember”

“Love of a person and of a place is sometimes so strong and just as beautiful, one can never underestimate the power of beautiful memories.”

“Sometimes reading a book leads one to another book.”

Details: audiobook is published by Macmillan Audio; narrated by Kate Reading (did not make up); produced by Laura Wilson and it is 5 cds with a running time of 6 hours.

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Audiobook, Bio, Fiction, Novel, Reading, Reads and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The audiobook I loved from its cover to its last uttered word – THE HOUSE I LOVED

  1. stacybuckeye says:

    Most stories set in Paris interest me so I’ll have to look for this one. Love that quotes about houses- so true!

  2. Sue Gerth says:

    So excited this is coming out in paperback soon! It’s on my list (and has been for awhile).

    • poofbooks says:

      I have her other books but I just never got to reading them. This one from the moment I laid eyes on that cover I knew I would. It is definitely not full of any bells or whistles but I thought it was exquisite.

  3. Oooh, this sounds so good. I love books about houses/homes. I know I feel this way about my home, and I’ve only lived here 3.5 years.

    • poofbooks says:

      Such a nice connection to have to your home in that short of time. I always love when I feel a building is talking to me or evokes an emotion. Sometimes I feel I can see those walking the halls from the past.

Leave a Reply

