Finally the wait is over RULES OF CIVILITY is out in paperback

The RULES OF CIVILITY by Amor Towles took everyone by storm last year when it came out.  I am so glad Viking Books carried over the same striking cover that graced the hardcover to the paperback. 

The staging is post-Depression Manhattan and the lovely 25 yr old Katey Kontent has reinvented herself to strike out in the city.  Katya (aka Katey) is the daughter of immigrant laborers and that has to be a secret from the new circles that she runs in at work and at play in New York City of 1938. 

Katey narrates her story for the reader.  It took me a little while to feel comfortable with this style but once I did it created something endearing between Katey and those who read her story.  Just writing about it today makes me want to pick it up all over again and visit Katey’s world. 

Katey and her boarding house roommate, Eve, vie for the attentions of the same man they meet in a bar Tinker Grey.  Through this association Katey is ascends into the upper echelon of the city and will soon discover many things about her self and this society she had been reaching for. 

Being transported to 1938 NYC was a treat.  I think it was smart that Towles let Katey tell her story but also use NYC as a very strong supporting character.  If you love a good throw back this novel is one you should not miss. 

Giveaway:  Thanks to the generosity of Viking Books I have two copies of RULES OF CIVILITY to giveaway to celebrate the paperback release this week.  So let the fireworks begin a little early here at Poof Books and leave a comment to be entered to win a copy.    

NOTE: Contest is open until midnight PST on July 3rd.  Winners chosen at random, only open to US residents.

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Novel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Finally the wait is over RULES OF CIVILITY is out in paperback

  1. Anita says:

    How did I miss this one? I so want to read this one!! Count me in,and I’m squeaking in just before midnight.

  2. Came to check out your blog today. I learned about your blog from writing your destiny. I like what I see here and will be back to visit soon.

  3. My favorite genre is historical fiction so I am shure to enjoy this!

  4. Gigi Ann says:

    The book sounds interesting, and your review makes me want to read this book. Thanks for hosting the give-away.

  5. Karen at Writing your Destiny recommended your blog and surprise there’ s a contest going on…Good luck to me! Looking forward to reading more of your book reviews and recommendations, thank you Alexandra

  6. Karen Wan says:

    Reblogged this on Writing Your Destiny and commented:
    Just wanted to let you know about my good friend Falise’s blog. She provides a wonderful service in giving away great books in contests throughout the year. She also writes insightful and witty book reviews covering the full gamut of genres and authors. She has a fantastic sense of humor, which brings me to the point of tears from laughing. Hope a few of you will gain the benefit of following her blog!

  7. jenn aka the picky girl says:

    I got this one from BEA and am so excited to read it. I’ve heard such fantastic things, and I love this time period. And you’re so right, lovely cover. Love the perspective.

  8. Sharon says:

    Ohhhhhhhhh! I’d love a copy! Thanks so much for a wonderful giveaway. My fingers (and toes) are crossed!

Leave a Reply

