On the Edge of My Chair With BLUE MONDAY

The husband and wife writing team of Nicci Gerrard and Sean French who write under the pseudonym Nicci French have launched the first in a series of psychological thrillers with BLUE MONDAY.  This is not my usual genre but with some persuasion from a wonderful publicist at Pamela Dorman Books/Viking Books I decided to jump in. 

The book starts off with a crime and its an abduction. Then, the book fast forwards many years and it is as if a new book were starting.  Characters were being introduced and backstories shared as not only was it the beginning of a book but it was also the start of a new series. 

Listen no one enjoys the stage being set more than I do, but this time I had already witnessed something unsettling and then I wasn’t sure where Nicci and French  were headed.  It felt a little like being seasick on a boat, I did not have my “booklegs”.  My pace for reading was slow as I was looking for something and imagined it was around every corner, which might have been the intent.

It took me many chapters before I became involved in the current storyline and I do think it was well written and would only have good things to say if: 1) I was not thinking about that darn abduction introduced prior to chapter one; and 2) if two of the storylines did not involve children.  As with LAW & ORDER: SPECIAL VICTIMS UNIT TV series I just can’t do the kids. 

The cast is rich: Frieda a psychotherapist; Reuben – burned out therapist/a mentor to Frieda; Josef – bumbling workman /friend; Alan – a patient of Frieda’s; Detective Chief Inspector Karlsson – cop on the case and Rose Teale – sister to one of the abduction victims along with a cast of supporting characters that help contribute to the book’s flavor.  There are twists and turns and certainly some surprises and no shortage of suspense or darkness. 

If this case had not involved the abduction of children I would have been able to settle in easier.  However, I could not put it down and knew I had to see the case solved no matter the ending.  There were many times I could not put down BLUE MONDAY and I would definitely like to accompany Frieda and D.I. Karlsson on another case.

Here is the book trailer for BLUE MONDAY which set just the appropriate tone: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=igl3Y_uw88Q. I would also like to thank that folks over at Pamela Dorman Books an imprint of Viking Books for providing me with a copy of this book.

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Books, Mystery, Novel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the Edge of My Chair With BLUE MONDAY

  1. jenn aka the picky girl says:

    This one definitely kept me on the edge of my seat. I suspected one of the twists (that didn’t come until the last page) but not the other one. Very interesting. Curious to see where this series leads.

    • poofbooks says:

      If the writing was not as fab. I am guessing I would have abandoned. Just no stomach for the children cases.

      I also was on the edge of my seat which is not my usual place when reading. However,I am interested in checking in on the next in the series.

      Thanks for stopping by, so appreciated.

Leave a Reply

