A Discovery of Witches Arrives in paperback – Giveaway

One of my favorite reads for 2011 was A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES by Deborah Harkness.  I was elated when the publisher, Penguin, offered me the opportunity to host a giveaway of this book but this time in paperback. The paperback was released on December 27th and has created a buzz the second time around for those waiting for this format.

If you missed my earlier review of A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES I have attached the linked for easy access: https://poofbooks.wordpress.com/2011/04/01/magical-read-that-is-a-slice-of-heaven/.  If you prefer a summary right here I would say the following:

1) I luved this book;

2) disliked that it was first in a trilogy (ALL SOULS TRILOGY) and there is soooo long to wait in between releases;

3) historical fiction fans will love the feel of this read as Harkness is a professor of history at the University of Southern California and has received a number of distinguished awards;

4) tickled pink it revolved around alchemy, witchcraft, sorcery, witches, warlocks and other beings all rolled into one fascinating novel with intricacies and detail that amazed but never stopped;

5) painful for a slow reader to contemplate 579 pages but in this case an absolute pleasure;

A copy of the gorgeous paperback edition of A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES is available to one lucky winner.  This contest runs from Jan. 4 th – Jan. 8th at midnight CST.  To enter simply stop by and leave a comment and share one of your favorite reads of 2010.  A winner will be chosen at random.

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Books, Giveaway, Novel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Discovery of Witches Arrives in paperback – Giveaway

  1. bn100 says:

    Thanks for the giveaway. I liked the Iron Knight book.

  2. My favorite read of 2010 was Ernest Cline’s Ready Player One. A hero’s quest filled to the brim with all sorts of 80’s nostalgia.

  3. Gina Ruiz says:

    Ooh I’m dying to read this book! Definitely on my TBR list. I just finished A Dance With Dragons for the second time and have to say, it’s my favorite book of 2011 so far.

    • poofbooks says:

      Gina so nice of you to stop by. I knew I had seen or heard that title was driving me nut. Now I got it DH is has those and reading them again and again in anticipation of Season 2.

  4. tinyturtle88 says:

    One of my favorite reads of 2010 was Crooked Letter Crooked Letter! It had me completely engrossed. I saw the reviews for this and think it’s right up my daughter’s alley! Her birthday is next month and would love to win this for her! 🙂

  5. Soraya Felix says:

    It’s not hard to leave a comment. I am a big fan of the book and I was sad because I could not go to the Rio de Janeiro in September to have a book autographed by the author. So would love to be the lucky winner of this copy.
    Good luck everyone.

  6. Joseph Finn says:

    Fabulous books from what I’ve heard!

  7. Discovery of Witches was one of my favorites (I’ll be at the signing tonight at Andersons in Naperville), but another favorite was The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

  8. Heather says:

    I have heard good things about this book and it is on my list to read. Even better if I got a free copy 🙂

  9. Rachel says:

    I just unpacked all my books from moving and realized that I do not actually own this yet! Travesty! One of my favorite reads of the year was The Taker by Alma Katsu. Lovely imagery and lots of magic :).

  10. BermudaOnion says:

    My sister loved this book too. Good luck everyone!

Leave a Reply

