Audiobook Giveaway – travel in time with Stephen King’s 11/22/63

I am in the midst of listening to the 30 discs, yep I said 30 discs audiobook.  I was hoping to finish before posting but alas I could not make it, but still wanted to share this giveaway before the year is out. 

I must stress that my inability to finish this audiobook is not for lack of interest, but merely lack of time.  But rest assured, I look forward with great anticipation in the new year returning to my audiobook listening and seeing how 11/22/63 plays out.

First I have my thoughts to share about Stephen King’s latest and then provide you those from Simon Audio who gave me an amazing December of audiobook giveaways.  Thanks to everyone for stopping by for audiobook month-long play. 

Stephen King’s latest is about time travel but even though this notion sparks thoughts             of sci-fi that is not its mission.  Al, the guy that runs the diner in Lisbon Falls, Maine, found a  time portal in the pantry. As Al is dying he decides to share this startling discovery with one of his customers. That customer is Jake Epping, he is a teacher that moonlights teaching GED courses. 

However, this portal does not transport to anywhere or anytime it only goes to September 9, 1958.  Al explains all of this to Jake who is stunned and thinks Al is crazy as you can imagine. Al further explains that you can visit the past for as long as you like but when you return to the present it is two minutes later. Every subsequent visit is a “reset.” You can change the past which has present ramifications but the past repeats itself over and over again. 

Al’s shared this secret he has been keeping with Jake for a very specific purpose. Al wants  Jake to stop the assassination of JFK.  Al cannot do it himself as he is too weak and would not have the time to complete the journey from 1958 to 1963 so it is up to Jake. 

Truth be told I am not a Stephen King fan, but this one has caught my attention for so many reasons since I started to hear about its arrival.  I do have a favorite King book that he wrote for his daughter THE EYES OF THE DRAGON, I have given it to many.  I expect 11/22/63 to be another winner for me from King. I could not help but feel the influence of Star Trek and the movie Groundhog Day as I was listening but that comparison stops at the time travel and resists. King’s detail about life during the time travel is tedious and fascinating.

Next up is Simon Audio’s blurb cause after all they have read it and have supplied the three copies for giveaway to three lucky winners:

On November 22, 1963, three shots rang out in Dallas, President Kennedy died, and the world changed forever. What if you could change it back? Stephen King’s heart-stoppingly dramatic new audiobook, 11/22/63, takes listeners on an incredible journey into the past and the possibility of altering it. Narrated by Craig Wasson (Aleekah and the Bee, Malcolm X), this tour de force audiobook tells the story of Jake Epping, a thirty-five-year-old high school English teacher in Lisbon Falls, Maine, who makes extra money teaching adults in the GED program when his life is turned upside down as he enters a portal to 1958 and finds himself on a mission to try to prevent the Kennedy assassination…

GIVEAWAY: I have three copies to giveaway. Please comment below and share if you had a portal in your closet where you would travel to and why?  Winners will be chosen randomly and this giveaway will be open till Jan. 2nd at midnight CST. 

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Books, Giveaway, Novel, Reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Audiobook Giveaway – travel in time with Stephen King’s 11/22/63

  1. mariamro says:

    If I had a portal, I would have to go back to Israel, to the time of Jesus, to actually meet Him in person. I can’t imagine how this one person changed all of history, and still inspires such emotion, anger, worship, wars, etc. I would love to get the book!!!!! Mary

  2. susan viti says:

    #1 New Years Resolution is to read more in 2012. Audio books will definitely be included in that treat for me.

    In terms of time travel, it would be interesting to go back to the early 70’s to meet my mother as she was raising children. Her life seemed harder than mine, as I raise a child in more modern times.

  3. Pamella Leiter says:

    I used to love to read Steven King but have not been reading since his head injury. This sounds like a real treat! I only traveled back in time through books as I child. I would climb a tree and sit in it for hours and read. I did have an imaginary girlfriend though, so that was my escape!
    Thanks for sharing this!

  4. Mary Pat D. says:

    If I had a portal in my closet, I would love to meet my ancestors that I never got to meet- such as my great grandparents, great-great grandparents. I would love to talk about why they came to the US and what was going on in their countries to make them leave.

  5. melissa says:

    Great concept. I can almost see the movie they’ll make.

  6. Tracey Byram says:

    I would travel to the old west in the 1800s because this country was wild and free then.

  7. Kayla says:

    I’d like to go back to the twenties. I think that’s be fun!

  8. Susan says:

    I would like to go back to the 1800s where my ancestors lived in England. I do genealogy, and would love to go back and meet them.

  9. Dustin says:

    If I had a Portal in my closet, I would test it out. After stepping through the fear would set in about getting back. Isn’t that half the fun, doing something and not knowing the consequence?
    Happy new year!

  10. That’s a hard one! I think I’d travel back to the 1500s when the world was still being discovered and try to get on an expedition ship. It would be so interesting to go places no one else had ever gone and see new plants and animals no one else had ever seen. 1830s would be my second choice, again sailing the world on the HMS Beagle with Darwin would be mind blowing.

    Thanks for the chance to win the audiobook – I’ve been looking forward to reading/listening to 11/22/63 since it came out!

  11. Jean-Baptiste says:

    I for one I’m a big Stephen King fan. So I think I’d travel back to meet him before he’d become famous and try to befriend him to know how he was like. I’ve always imagined him friendly, because he’s the only author I can read his notes at the beginning and the end of his books, and they all feel written for me, in a way.

    Obviously, I would be tempted to try and stop all the bad things that happened to him (alcool, accident, drugs, …), but then, maybe he wouldn’t write some of his amazing books without these events. Butterfly effect is a bitch.

  12. Jen Forbus says:

    Wow, I’ve been getting so caught up in the happiness of the here and now…but if I could go anywhere, I think I might like to be able to go and meet some of the writers of the Victorian English era…could I see Mark Twain at the same time? 😉

  13. Hmmm… I’ve been feeling a bit nostalgic lately so I think I’d like to travel back and revisit parts of my child hood. Specifically I’d like to see what I was like when I was my son’s age.

    Thanks for the opportunity. I haven’t read any King, but this one sounds like something that I would enjoy.

Leave a Reply

