Day 5 Audiobook Week: Final Day Musings about Audiobooks

Current/most recent audiobook: I am listening to MILES TO GO by Richard Paul Evans (Simon Audio). Evans is narrating this as well I am on Disc 4 of 5.

Prior to that I was listening to Sarah Vowell’s UNFAMILIAR FISHES (Simon Audio) written and narrated by the author.  This book was shared on 6 discs.

Impressions: While MILES TO GO would not make my top ten list, it has grown on me and has touched me.  There were tears at the end of disc 3.   Full disclosure: there was a first installment that I have neither read or listened to and that might have made a difference.

UNFAMILIAR FISHES had a slow start as I was not drawn to its subject, the annexation and Americanization of Hawaii. Hands downs had the best production value of any audiobook I have listened to. I loved the ensemble cast that voiced some of the key characters in this historical adventure. Feature to come on this one.

Current favorite audiobook: UNFAMILIAR FISHES by Sarah Vowell

One narrator who always makes you choose audio over print: I have been listening for years and it is usually the author, subject or buzz that will bring me to the audiobook.  Although since this is my first Audiobook Month and Week I am thinking more about it.

Genre you most often choose to listen to: Until most recently I would have said somewhere between chick lit, although I do not care for this term, and light fiction.  But I do find that other genres that I would not pick up for one reason or another I much prefer to listen to in audiobook format just feels easier to take the risk and having someone else reading it “helps the medicine go down”.

If given the choice, you will always choose audio when: it is a book I so want to read for one reason or another but outside of my comfort genre or subject matter comfort zone.  The audiobook turns it right around from a chore to a delight.

If given the choice, you will always choose print when: When I am confident in its magic for me that I want to have and hold in my hands and the shelves. My love affair with books was ingrained by my mom and I will forever treasure them in my heart.

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Audiobook and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 5 Audiobook Week: Final Day Musings about Audiobooks

  1. Jen - Devourer of Books says:

    Audio definitely helps the iffy books go down.

Leave a Reply

