Day 4 – Audiobook Week: Audiobooks for Uninitiated

Audio books have been in my life for the last decade.  My first brush with them came  when I found myself a road warrior in my job.  I spent a good deal of time in the car driving to clients/meetings and I don’t really like to drive.  After a few 7 – 9 hour days in the car I had to do something or lose my mind.

I went to the bookstore to find an audiobook and realized the wealth of titles that existed. I had been completely oblivious before even thought I spent a great deal of time with my husband in bookstores.  I picked a title by an author that I liked and a mystery as I thought that would be sure to grab my attention.  My selection was LOVES MUSIC LOVES TO DANCE by Mary Higgins Clark.  I was hooked.

I asked for audio books going forward for ever occasion although my family got tired of this exercise as they were not believers.  Nonetheless countless numbers of books on tape got me through those thousands of miles without incident. However, once I left that world and got off the road which also necessitated lifestyle changes I dropped the audio books but looked at them lovingly in the bookstores.

I started to ask for them again a few years later and picked up some when they were on sale but just treasured them waiting for the next drive to use them.  I am now plugged back into the bookworld and I have an audio book in the car at all times and listen to them when I am running errands. That was a shift in thinking for me. I thought I would not appreciate them as much if I was listening for bits but I read in chapters not the entire book so why not.  Once I started this behavior I have never looked back. I can’t wait to get in the car and I all errands always get done timely and visits to clients don’t pain me.

So I am never one to think I should offer advice but I will share what I love about audiobooks:

– can do something else with my hands when I am listening;

– allows me to read more;

– will take a risk on audiobooks outside of my comfort or genre zones I would otherwise never sit to read;

– really makes life in the car fun from errands to a road trip;

– like Howie Mandel I am easily distracted, but the audiobook most always pulls me in and takes me someone from the comfort of my own car;

– LUUUVVVEEE EM

P.S. Anytime you want to chat about audiobooks outside of this week or month do stop by or tweet @poofbooks.

 

 

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Audiobook and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 4 – Audiobook Week: Audiobooks for Uninitiated

  1. Jen - Devourer of Books says:

    That’s a good point, we do often read in chapters, or even parts of chapters, so why not listen in whatever small chunks are available?

Leave a Reply

