Loving Audiobook Week

Could not be more pleased about audiobook week set in to motion by the divine Devourer of Books, Jen, except maybe if it were all five weeks of the month.  As Jen was so kind to provide guidance for these posts, I am going to Q & A myself.

Are you new to audiobooks in the last year?

Definitely not new to audiobooks in the last year.  I was a road warrior in a former life for the position that I held.  As I was often in the car for 7 hours while in California I so dreaded it I needed a distraction or a reason not to cry.  I found my love of audiobooks during those miserable times.

Proud to say that although I no longer travel like that I still love audio books but they feel more like a treat now, then a necessity.  As they usually come with a higher price point I have been asking for them as gifts for years.

I am not much of a driver or a lover of time in the car after those years on the road but with the audiobooks I cannot wait to run an errand to find out what is next.  Since I opened up my booking world under a new identity I have been fortunate to start receiving some audiobooks to review.  It has been outstanding and I hope that it not only continues but expands.  ARE YOU READING THIS AUDIOBOOK  COMPANIES OR DIVISIONS?

Have you been listening to them forever but discovered something new this year?

Since I was so fortunate to receive some titles to review I have discovered non – fiction on tape audiobooks.  I just completed and will review sometime this month Sarah Vowell’s UNFAMILIAR FISHES and Shirley MacLaine’s I’M OVER ALL THAT.  Surprised at how much I liked them. Going forward I will not shy away from the non-fiction racks.

Additionally, both of these selections above were narrated by their authors.  I had only listened to one other where the author did double duty, that was a novel, SHOPGIRL, by Steve Martin.  Not a fan.  So perhaps it is the fiction/non-fiction delineation or just the topics but I am certainly be open to these going forward.

Favorite titles?

Too hard, each one is my favorite while I am listening and until I start another.  But I often don’t like when others avoid the question so I do have one that edges out the rest by a nose, DEAR ROSIE by Cecelia Ahern.  The reason this is the winner is that is a perfect story for this medium and I just loved everything about it.

New times/places to listen?

I have not deviated from the car since I have started to listen. That does not mean I have not gone out in the garage to listen to the audiobook, but one way or another it is in the car .

This is your chance to introduce yourself and your general listening experience.

Have I mentioned that since I discovered the magic of audiobooks I am addicted. One of the pure joys for me about audiobooks is that I listen to books that I believe I would never have otherwise read.  I find that exceptionally freeing and exciting and I encourage anyone else curious but either dreading because of length or the genre to consider an audiobook as an option.

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Audiobook and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Loving Audiobook Week

  1. Great post! I am such a big audio fan 🙂

  2. Oh, and don’t forget to link up to the Mr. Linky!

    • poofbooks says:

      Just going to do that. Although I find it hard to take “Mr. Linky” seriously. Thank you for all you are doing to spread the Audiobook Week Love.

  3. The narrator thing isn’t really nonfiction in general, but memoirs and other more personal nonfiction, which is why you found them in those two titles.

  4. Teresa says:

    I like to listen while unloading and loading the dishwasher. Of course that doesn’t take very long, but the kitchen can always use a little extra tidying up, right?

    • poofbooks says:

      Oh I would be worried that I could not get beyond the dishes or worse that I would make dirty dishes just to wash them. I think audiobooks are great for anything where you need your hands free. Okay when you are driving hands on the wheel.

Leave a Reply

