Sprinkling of 2011 Favs and Those Yet to Come (I Hope)

ARMCHAIR BEA DAY 2: 

Always hard for me to think about top picks when it comes to the books I read.  On some level I usually fall in love with something about each and every book. Here we go:

A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES by Deborah Harkness

I thought I would like ADOW but when I saw how thick it was I could not bring myself to start it. But once I did the rest was pure magic!

The backdrop of Oxford University creates just the right backdrop for this complex installment of witches, vampires and daemons. All those years of studies for this author have paid as she serves her recipe of one part history, one part magical layers   seasoned with suspense and love.  It is an adult Harry Potter to be sure only infinitely better.

Still choking on the bitter taste of when I  found out via Twitter that it was the first in a trilogy. But in the end this is one succulent dish that pairs well with all reds.

A VINTAGE AFFAIR by Isabel Wolff

This was one of those love at first cover.  I waited and wished and waited and wished and then it arrived one day from Bantam Books.  I loved this clothes and the explanations of the outfits, if only this was a “Pat The Bunny” inspired book. While I expected this to be light it turned out to be flush with relationships that were by no means simple but it was lovely. I am ready for another tale with Phoebe Swift at Village Vintage.0

THE LAST TIME I SAW PARIS by Lynn Sheene

Loved this beautifully written novel that takes place during WWII in occupied France.  From high society to scrimping to survive in war-torn Paris; Claire Harris did not have this in mind for herself once she left the sleepy farm town and never looked back.  But who can Claire trust and why does any of this matter to an American?

Beautifully spun novel about the French Resistance and the deceit that runs deep in the tumultuous City of Lights.  I read this novel proudly as I won an ARC in a contest sponsored by author Lynn Sheene.  She had a daily photo of Paris that contestants had to identify to win.

CLARA AND MR. TIFFANY by Susan Vreeland

Love the art fiction genre that Susan Vreeland creates in her novels.  My mother had always had a fondness for Tiffany Glass that she passed down to me but I knew nothing about this man and his vision.

Turns out Clara Driscoll not only worked for Mr. Louis Comfort Tiffany,  she was a driving force. As Driscoll was a prolific letter writer and thanks to their preservation this story was born.  Because Vreeland takes creative freedom in her fiction genre as she crafts a story with the blanks filled in order for it to flow smoothly.

Books I have yet to read but that are due out soon…

THE NIGHT CIRCUS by Erin Morgenstern

Like A VINTAGE AFFAIR above, going to wait and wish and wait and wish…

SMOKIN’ SEVENTEEN: A Stephanie Plum Novel by Janet Evanovich

My sister-in-law started me out on these and now they are a habit I can neither shake nor do I want to.  Do not have it yet.

JOY FOR BEGINNERS by Erica Bauermeister

Loved Erica Bauermeister’s previous THE SCHOOL OF ESSENTIAL INGREDIENTS. This one is here!!!

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading, Reads and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

