Welcome to POOF…books!

A journey that took longer then expected but it doesn’t matter as now POOF…books! has arrived.  Five years ago when asked what I was going to do with my life now that I was off the road from travel for business I immediately responded that I missed reading.  I did book reviews for years for For Her Information magazine and that was delightful. Met so many amazing publicists, authors and had the honor to read and review so many books in so many genres.  In short order I became the guest segment producer for Job Talk Radio and I challenged myself to find the best guests for our audience and that resulted in reading a book a week to prepare for the show.  

Another idea had been percolating deep within; what about books for just me?  Alas, I did not want to join a book club for so many reasons:  no group of friends nearby; no cooking or cleaning when it was my turn to host; nor did I want to lose control of the book selection and what if I could not read the book in time and so on…you get the idea.  I though about an on-line book club but with no rules.  That vision did come to fruition through a site called 24/8 Book Club and that was an amazing experience and had features such as: dueling book reviews, book news and author’s spotlight.  24/8 Book Club also did special events to highlight authors and books in unexpected spaces and oh what fun we had.  As For Her Information and 24/8 were shutting down I knew I had to do something with my books because of the magic I had found within their pages.  The next thing you know this blog was born and today is the first post.

One thing I knew POOF…books! just had to be up for the holiday season. There is no better short-term or long-term gift then a book, they come in all shapes and sizes and they are a bargain for all they bring into our lives, not just today but for many tomorrows.  So without further ado I am going to get into that comfy chair with a glass of something and my bunny slippers nearby to read another chapter.  Please stop by anytime, and of course love to hear from you about what you are reading, poofbooks@gmail.com.

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

