LOST LAKE Is a Magical Read Not to be Missed

lostlake-lgLOST LAKE is the latest by Sarah Addison Allen and the March Selection for the She Reads Book Club. I have been introduced to many wonderful reads by the She Reads mavens that select our reads but I needed no introduction to Allen.  I have read every book she has written this far and I look forward to many more.

The recipe is simple, she writes enchanting stories about delightful characters that come alive in the pages of her books.  And lastly and probably my favorite ingredient is the magic she sprinkles over each and every novel.

Kate Pheris has been a widow for about a year and she been in a grief fog but is about to wake up.  She knows her deceased husband Matt would not approve of the way she is being handled by his mother and especially the way their daughter Devin’s unique personality is disappearing.   Just when it seems Kate has surrendered to her bully of a mother-in-law she takes Devin to a spot that once meant the world to her LOST LAKE.

When she arrives she knows there is something right about this place.  And when her daughter returns to herself at LOST LAKE Kate knows that she and her daughter should stay a while.  Kate’s Great Aunt Eby is on the brink of selling this spot as her husband is gone and the place needs work and the guests just do not come to this retreat as they used to.

Eby’s decision brings old friends and the town to throw a party to say farewell.  Devin charms everyone including a four-legged creature that wants her to follow his direction.  LOST LAKE is a place that all should visit and it is not hard to close your eyes and imagine yourself there.

Something felt a little different about LOST LAKE than Allen’s other books maybe it it was the purpose and healing that seeped from its pages. It still has Allen’s trademark magical brushstrokes which is my very favorite part of her work.  Once I finished the book and read the acknowledgement I fell in love with LOST LAKE and Allen all the more.

She Reads LogoIf I have not caused you to drop everything and read LOST LAKE perhaps you will enjoy the insight that Allen herself shares in this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=zk7alPFIXSw. Oh and don’t forget to visit She Reads Book Club to see what other bloggers thought of this book and to learn what we are up to.

 

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Books, Fiction, Novel, Reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to LOST LAKE Is a Magical Read Not to be Missed

  1. I was more than happy to find this web site. I need to
    to thank you for ones time for this particularly wonderful read!!
    I definitely savored every bit of it and I have you saved to fav to look at new information in your web site.
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici

  2. here says:

    I want to to thank you for this great read!!
    I definitely loved every little bit of it.

    I have got you book-marked to check out new stuff you post…

  3. Heyy I knoiw this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of
    any widgets I could add too my blog that automatically tweet my newest twiter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe
    you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new
    updates.

    • poofbooks says:

      Thx for stopping by and leaving a comment it is much appreciated. I don’t use anything special just the option in wordpress and then Hootsuite to do some RTs. But there seems tobe an app for everything.

  4. This is the first book I’ve read by this author. I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

