It’s A Vintage Wonderful Read

Ever since I viewed the hardcover of A VINTAGE AFFAIR  by Isabel Wolff I had high hopes the story within was for me.  Several times my husband tried to convince me to purchase it, most likely to stop me from going on and on about it.

Months and months went by and then one day hubby returned from the bookstore with the news it was out in paperback but what about my beautiful cover?  So happy to report the cover was in tact with a few minor changes that did not deter.  And if that was not enough the good folks at Bantam sent a copy my way.

The story is set in London and the lovely young woman who opens the vintage clothing store VILLAGE VINTAGE is Phoebe Swift.  Previously, Phoebe worked at Sotheby’s as a fashion auctioneer.  Seeking a change Phoebe opens the store and her care and attention to the clothes within her store are now her treasures.

The store, clothing and customers interaction is endearing and this is what I was expecting.  The cupcake dresses and their journey to their buyers steal the scenes; I so wanted to own one in pink (depending on the shade) or aqua.  While completely satisfied with this storyline, another storyline emerges with an older woman seeking to find homes for some of her clothes as well as lighten her possessions.  This provided the binding ingredient to issues in Phoebe’s past and present as well as closure that was missing in Phoebe’s life.

If you are out there and reading this from across The Pond Isabel Wolff, I am ready for the next chapter in Phoebe Swift’s life and the outfits on the racks at Village Vintage. To find out more about Isabel, A VINTAGE AFFAIR and her other books visit, http://www.isabelwolff.com/us-books/a-vintage-affair/index.html.

About poofbooks

With a wave of the wand and a good book in hand travel to places and spaces beyond your imagination. Because reading does not require you to leave the comfort of your own living room or the bunny slippers behind. So if a vacation is not in your plans for this year, take a bookation, you will love it.
This entry was posted in Books, Novel, Reading, Reads and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s A Vintage Wonderful Read

  1. Pingback: A true indie treasure is Isabel Wolff | poofbooks

  2. Isabel Wolff says:

    Hi – I AM here, across The Pond reading this, and I’d just like to thank you for such a lovely review, I really appreciate it and am delighted that you enjoyed the novel. As to a sequel, I think that this is unlikely, but my new novel, ‘The Very Picture of You’ is out in hardback on October 4th and one of the characters from ‘A Vintage Affair’ does make an appearance. The cover is similar to that for AVA and I do hope you like it. Also, one of my backlist titles, ‘Behaving Badly’, about an animal behaviourist, is published on October 18th.
    With very best wishes and many thanks

    Isabel Wolff

    • poofbooks says:

      Oh it is lovely that you are visiting the blog and left a COMMENT too! Funny you should mention ‘The Very Picture of You’ as I am in the midst of reading it right now. I have reached the reference to the shop in ‘A Vintage Affair’ and thought you most clever to slip that in.
      Oh and you are right I love both covers, in my mind the same artist is responsible for both. I would definitely buy one of his/her paintings to hang on my wall and enjoy everyday. Whoever it is deserves a hug.

      I look forward to your next forward release and will look for the backlist titles too. Congrats on the upcoming book b-day, October 4th.

  3. TheBookGirl says:

    I’ve had A Vintage Affair on my TBR list for a while now…knowing that there’s a paperback out has convinced me to get to it soon 🙂

Leave a comment